Welcome!

I’m so glad you’re here! While working at the YMCA, I have developed a passion for serving people through the fitness and health field – and now, I want to share that passion and my knowledge more widely. One of the things I love about this is that broadly it’s the same across the board: help folks reach their best health; but, more specifically when you look at individuals, this can mean so many things! Each person’s goal is going to be different in order to reach their best health and I’m so excited to be a part of that journey with people.

A little about me and my health journey…

I have gone to all extremes of the health and fitness spectrum. I’ve always had an “athletic” build, which in middle and high school just made me think “big”, but now simply means broad-shouldered, full hips and thighs, and overall, strong. In high school, I ranged from Weight Watchers, to not eating at all, to overexercising, then to college and overeating, bingeing and purging, to mostly giving up by the time I was in graduate school outside of the occasional workout at the Y where I worked – all this, despite both my undergrad and grad degree being in the health fields. Then, I met a guy. We got engaged. And I wanted to look good in a white dress. But, what happened over the course of our engagement and this journey is that it became more about feeling good rather than looking good. To be honest, I haven’t lost a lot of weight or inches, but my body and my mentality have changed. I’m stronger than I’ve been in a long time, I feel more confident on a day-to-day basis, and I know that I’m healthier on the inside as well because of the changes I’ve made. I’m still not perfect – I don’t work out every day, I still eat sweets (I’m a sucker for some chocolate…), and I love a cold Diet Coke…but, I’m more mindful about the choices I make and how they’re going to affect the way that I feel.

In addition to finding Garrett, my now-husband, the biggest change has been a shift in mentality. Health isn’t about your weight, your size, or your shape. Health is about your heart and how you feel. So no matter where you are in your journey, I ask you… Is your heart (or blood pressure, cholesterol, etc…) healthy? And do you feel good and confident about yourself? If either of those is no, I would love to chat with you and see if I can help you change that!

Leave a Reply

